Tsurugaoka Hachimangu

Yokosuka, Miura1h

Description

Tsurugaoka Hachimangu was founded in 1063 by Minamoto Yoriyoshi. In 1180, Minamoto Yoritomo, commander-in-chief of the Genji clan and a descendant of Yoriyoshi, moved the shrine to its current site and constracted a magnificent new shrine. Present building of the main shrine was rebuilt in 1828 and well known as a typical Edo period’s architecture, and designated as nationally important cultural prosperity today. Many visitors from all over the world enjoy the historical precinct and seasonal festivals.

Available Facilities

Detailed information

Address

2-1-31 Yukinoshita, Kamakura-shi, Kanagawa-ken

Business Hours

April – September 5am – 8:30pm (gate closes at 9pm) October – March 6am – 8:30pm (gate closes at 9pm) January 1-3 Open 24 hours

Photos

The Great Ginkgo

The Great Ginkgo

Maruyama Inari-sha Shrine

Maruyama Inari-sha Shrine

Maiden Hall

Maiden Hall

Kamakura Kokuhoukan Museum

Kamakura Kokuhoukan Museum