Tojo Yasutoki, the third regent of the Kamakura shogunate established Jojuin Temple in 1219. The complex was burned down in 1333 when Nitta Yoshisada attacked Kamakura but was rebuilt again in 1688 in the Genroku Era by high ranking monk Yuson. Go up 108 steps to the top for panoramic views of Yuigahama Beach. This was once a key place to protect Kamakura.
Check the official website for the latest information.
8:00 a.m. gate opens–5:00 p.m. gate closes (Winter season November 1st–March 1st 4:30 p.m. gate closes). Writing for red seals starts at 9:00 a.m.)
|Closed||all year round|
Admission Fee: Donation of an Unfixed Amount
A 5-minute walk from Gokurakuji Station on the Enoshima Electric Railway.