Legend has it that the residence of Minamoto-no-Yoshitomo, who is the father of Minamoto-no-Yoritomo (the founder of the Kamakura Shogunate), once stood here. Following her late husband's will, Hojo Masako (wife of Yoritomo) built a temple here in 1200 with the help of Myouan Eisai (a Japanese priest). Soon, it grew into a large temple with a dozen sub-temples. The precinct has been designated as National Historic Site.
10 minutes on foot from the West Exit of JR Kamakura Station (on the JR Yokosuka Line).